Fantasy Faire 2015 (RFL in Second Life)

What is Fantasy Faire?

Fantasy Faire 2015 is a collection of 13 ‘sim’s‘ from the imagination of some of Second Life’s most creative talents. An annual event taking place over 10 days to raise funds for the American Cancer Society. A mix of beautiful places to explore, packed with stores (with a special faire hunt), a variety of events including readings from the late Sir Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, a particle show from Tansee that left me quite speechless, dance performances from the talented NIght Theater, fabulous DJ’s, the ever popular Jail and Bail, plus much more!

Check out the official Fantasy Faire website and the current totals raised for Relay For Life, I’m still in awe that little old Second Life and its inhabitants can raise more than 6.5 million lindens or $26,500 in such a short space of time.

My first Fantasy Faire

I have obviously been living under a rock somewhere as this was my first FF and I could honestly slap myself for not being aware of this event earlier. It just so happened that a friend of mine told me that she was creating something for the event which got me curious, and of course was keen to show her some support. I had a little while before it opened so I decided to try and find a fantasy look for myself, any excuse for a good shopping trip right? This was a great decision in the end as I felt much more at home in this fantasy world than I would have otherwise. You don’t have to be a wealthy SL citizen to join in the fun, find a pair of free wings if your L$ balance is low, a little bit of dress up really adds to the experience. I had never really been one to dress up in fantasy costume before, now I wonder why I hadn’t done it sooner! I often found myself just looking around, admiring the creativity that had gone into everyone’s outfits.

Being a complete newbie to FF I was grateful someone sent me a notecard with landmarks to the different areas to visit. Poppetsborough was my first stop, based around the idea of a children’s pop up book.

Poppetsborough_001

With FF having just begun the place was packed, with people appearing all around me. Fairies with their delicate wings, mermaids with their swishing tails and some strange characters that I really couldn’t identify but impressive nonetheless!

A little wander through Poppetsborough trying to find somewhere a little quieter I came across Poseidon’s Abyss where I would soon discover a series of amazing shows would take place.

Poseidon's Abyss3_001

Poseidon's Abyss2_001

I think it was when I eventually reached Sylvan Of Spells that I realised I was going to be hooked. Just walking around here was jaw dropping to me, I wanted to live there! A really beautiful sim where someone had obviously been using a radioactive watering can to feed the grass as it was glowing so brightly. It was also, as I later discovered, home of the LitFest book readings and discussions.

Sylvan Of Spells_001

Pictures of a few of my favourite places

YoZakura

YoZakura4_001

YoZakura_001

Wildehaven Marsh

Wildehaven Marsh_001

Spires Of Andolys

Spires Of Anolys_001

Ravenhold – Another place I want to live and never want to lose, it’s just so stunning!

Ravenhold6_001

Ravenhold_001

Odyssey

Odyssey3_001

Odyssey2_001

Aurora

Aurora2_001

Aurora7_001

Ichi-go Ichi-e

Ichi-go Inchi-e_001

Ichi-go Ichi-e2_001

There is a lot more to be said on Fantasy Faire and plenty more photo’s on my Flickr stream with even more to come there too. I will be adding more as soon as I get time, FF is still open at the time of posting so I don’t want to miss a thing!

Leave a Reply

